A Developer's Journey

images (1).jpeg

A lot of developers started technical writings from relating about their experiences in the tech industry. After a series of writing and cancelling, I have decided to relate my experiences with fellow developers. I felt inspired to do this after reading a blog article by Edidiong Asikpo on 'The importance of Blogging as a Developer'.

This is my first hurdle and I am determined to pass this stage into becoming a better writer on technical issues.

I am a graduate of Biochemistry from the University of Benin, Edo State, Nigeria. My major transition into the tech field happened in 2017. Growing up, I always had a misconception that understanding computers was too complex for the female mind to comprehend so anything that is related to using a computer should be restricted to the male gender. How wrong and naive was I. I can vividly remember what sparked that interest in me to want to be a software developer. I had (have) a friend who was learning how to program and I was thrilled on how a computer can do more than Microsoft office applications. We started going for tech events together. After attending a Django Girls Bootcamp, I felt like I can do so much more than an average student. I can remember instances of taking my stickers-populated laptop to night classes just to open my command terminal and keep typing unnecessary commands so students around me can see how cool I was😄😄

After about 6 months of goofing around, I became serious with programming after my graduation. In all sincerity,there have been ups and down in my dedication and discipline. Since September 2020, I have been consistent with programming and software development. I am currently running a remote internship with a software development firm Dufuna.com and it has been a very smooth journey. I hope to document my experience at this CodeCamp upon completion of my programme.

Over the years I have learnt that it is advisable to have a structured form of learning, a roadmap of your intended stack and dedicate at least 2 hours each day to improving your skills. Being part of a developer community is as important as having a senior developer as mentor. Also having an accountability partner is necessary for career growth.

I hope to do more of this in the future and I would gladly appreciate your feedback💙💙

Thanks for reading✨.